Write As Rea

The happy intersection between what I want to write and what people want to read.

I swear, you try to do something nice for somebody…

So the never ending battle with S.h.o.d. moved into the bathroom over the winter. First I fixed the cartridge in my shower (disintegrating o-ring equals a leaky faucet handle) and then it got even with me yesterday by helping me fall out of it. Casualties were minor; bruised limbs and pride, and a traumatized towel bar, but my morale is a little low.

I keep trying, though, and I have learned a great deal in the process of caring for my home. Not just about how to fix things, but about myself, and why creating a place to belong is important to me. My home, difficult as it likes to be, serves as shelter from bad days and disappointments. It becomes a place I retreat to for dreaming, resting, and gathering together loved ones and memories.

It may not be easy some days, but it’s a place of learning too. And a place of failure. Sometimes I need help with projects beyond my ability. I know myself better from the experience of owning a home. There is a sense of accomplishment in the management of my household when I get it right. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still looking forward to a time when S.h.o.d is more about maintenance and less about attempted maiming but I am a more competent person for my experiences.

I guess I should get started on fixing the towel bar…

 

 

2 thoughts on “If You Fix the Shower…the Shower will Fix You

  1. Tilly Frueh says:

    I understand completely about fixing a home and learning things about maintenance as well as yourself. We’ve been in the same house for 23 years and it is now pretty much a money pit, as all homes become as they age. Still, all the wonderful lessons I’m learning have got to count for something and when/if we ever move, I’ll take them with us to our next sanctuary.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rea says:

      It’s always something right? All that wisdom…for a price lol. I am sure your knowledge will stand you in good stead wherever life takes you. Thanks for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

