Write As Rea

The happy intersection between what I want to write and what people want to read.

Who am I cooking for?

It can’t be me. That’s for sure!

That entrée was nearly poisonous.

And all my good intentions turn to dust

As I’m chewing stale bread crusts.

I’m scared to look in the crisper drawer

Because I’m ashamed, but I won’t lie,

It’s where Swiss chard goes to putrefy.

Those recipes that I found online? Epic failures every time.

Eating better, yeah, I know I should…but chocolate ice cream tastes so good.

A scum of mold formed on my cheese,

Can a cooking guru help me please?

And so it’s back to that old stand-by,

Ramen noodles and French fries.

(For those of you reading in horror and feeling decidedly worried about my health, this was meant to be an exercise in rhyme, and not a true reflection of my eating habits…mostly. The crisper you ask? Ahem, no comment.)

3 thoughts on “Dinner is Served

  1. Servetus says:

    Ignore the crisper 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rea says:

      I think that might be the problem…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Servetus says:

        Good point.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

