Write As Rea

The happy intersection between what I want to write and what people want to read.

Ah, Spring. My favorite season of the year. When everything turns green, the birds sing, the weather is perfect and s.h.o.d. tries to bump me off. When I say my house is out to get me I hardly exaggerate at all (okay, maybe a little) but there’s only so many coincidences you can take before you start to wonder.

Aside from the obvious grass allergies and you know, venomous spiders like black widows (psychological warfare is so not cool s.h.o.d.), when your lawn mower starts on fire sparked by a flying rock from your landscaping, it’s time to take a break and have some lemonade.

So…while my lawnmower and I were recuperating (no permanent damage thankfully) I enjoyed my lemonade and thought about the goals I made at the beginning of the year. Spring inspires me. It fills my soul with freshness after the restful winter and energizes me to get moving. It also inspires me to just be. Balance. Peace. Gratitude. Beginning. Work. This is the season I feel most creative.

It’s also probably why I disappeared for a couple of months, too. I had a lot I wanted to get done, and Spring merged into Summer, and soon Summer will merge into Fall. Such is life. I think it’s good to forget occasionally about all the ways we’re plugged in and just be. It’s not necessarily good for readership in the short-term, but it’s good for the soul, and that always ends up better for everyone in the long run.

So while I’m doing my impression of John Goodman from Arachnophobia…

I hope you’re all enjoying the summer. After all, there’s never a shortage of things to do and there always seems to be a shortage of time to do them in. Am I right?

Leave a Reply

