Write As Rea

The happy intersection between what I want to write and what people want to read.

Work for your entertainment! Work! Mwahaha! Ahem, anyway, sorry about the picture. Hope you can read backwards or have a mirror somewhere should you be so inclined to try that hard. I was digging through my cedar chest and I found this early indicator of brilliance and thought I would share it with you. It’s been fifteen years since 2000 so I had a little extra time to work on some of these predictions but I guess I’ve always marched to the beat of my own drum. Let’s just say my future didn’t turn out exactly like I expected. I think my younger self would forgive me that. I’ve included the entirety of my little essay (present day commentary in parentheses). Enjoy!

Me and my sister went schooll afer the school vacation. (Grammar and spelling were not my forte at this point in my school career-my apologies). Our teacher asked us what we would like to be in 2000. (My sister and I are not the same age, by the way, so I don’t know how she got included in this little assignment). I thought I would like to be a Sientist. I thought to myself. I could find germs that would not be known about. And find the crures (I think this was written after reading a book on Madame Curie, but I can safely say that I will probably never be a scientist although I still think science is fascinating). I’d move to florida by the beach and get a sun tan. (Well, I lived in Florida for a while, but a tan? Hah! Now that’s something that’s never going to happen. Poor kid. Wishful thinking I guess. Second degree sunburns will do that to a person). Mabie get a boyfriend (Hehe. Guess this one is still a maybe at the moment).

I might not have been able to spell, or predict the future very well, and I may never be a tan scientist with a boyfriend, but I do know one thing about myself. I have always been and will always be a writer. And for the present, well, that’s good enough for me.

Leave a Reply

