Write As Rea

The happy intersection between what I want to write and what people want to read.

Experts suggest that most resolutions we make at the start of a new year are abandoned shortly after we make them. Calling them goals (semantics if you ask me) and writing them down improves their longevity a little, but breaking them down into small achievable pieces has been recommended as the best practice if you want to actually succeed. I thought that if I was going to make some resolutions I would start small and plan ahead for my potential failure…so, ahem, here are my resolutions for 2015.

  1. Wear makeup. (I’ll try tinted lip balm. Does that count? Despite good intentions I choose sleep over beauty every time. I like following beauty blogs though. It’s about as ambitious as I get.)
  2. Eat more fiber. (I think I can do this one if I rely on those gummy supplements. I’m a sucker for fruit snacks. I should try actual fruit too.)
  3. Plant a vegetable garden. (This one is pretty doomed since I kill most of my houseplants, but hope springs eternal!)
  4. Kill s.h.o.d. with kindness. (Maybe some home improvement projects will forge an unbreakable friendship. Working on emergency savings just in case I’m wrong…)
  5. Stop drinking soda. (I know it’s bad for me, but it tastes like liquid stress relief. Alright, alright, I’ll shoot for once a week. I’ve had a couple of set backs with this one already…sigh.)
  6. Exercise more. (Cleaning my house more often works right?)
  7. I must not be very ambitious. I’m running out of ideas. Ooh, I know! Sew an actual garment I can wear. (Sewing a garment is probably possible. It being wearable a little less so.)
  8. Finish my fantasy novel and my collection of short stories and get them published this year. (First serious resolution! Go me!)
  9. Laugh as much, and as genuinely, and as often as possible. (Seriously.  Hahaha 😄)
  10. Don’t let the fear of failure prevent me from trying.

I’m going to fail. A lot actually. I fail all the time. So will you I imagine. It kind of sucks right? And? Don’t let that stop you from doing anything that matters. Make a resolution even though you may not keep it. Isn’t the possibility of failure, even the idea of its certainty, what makes success so sweet? Go on. Get inspired. Have fun with it. Take a step. Try.

Leave a Reply

