Write As Rea

The happy intersection between what I want to write and what people want to read.

Success means a lot of different things to people.  When it comes to my own success with writing, I usually envision a fantasy of being an independently wealthy shut-in with a new vehicle, a remodeled s.h.o.d., time to do anything I want, and record-breaking sales of my work while no one knows who I am.  Weird, right?  I’m not saying I’m an anti-civilization nutter, but for a person who is somewhat shy, putting myself out there as an author freaks me out a bit.

The idea of making cocktail conversation at a huge party in my honor or reading my work in front of people makes me a little green around the gills.  In contrast, small one-on-one interactions where I can connect with my readers sound perfect.  How about you?  When you imagine your own success (of any kind) is it big and flashy?  Or is it something more quiet and personal?

I challenge you to think about it.  Imagine it in detail.  Have fun with it, and then write it down somewhere so you can reflect on it later.  It can be a fun exercise to go through for characters you are working on as well.  I would also suggest that however success manifests itself in your life, you should leave some room for the unexpected, and enjoy it in the moment.  After all, we never know how long those moments will last!

Leave a Reply

