Write As Rea

The happy intersection between what I want to write and what people want to read.

So we first met Joe when he made an unexpected appearance in one of my recent posts, and he was a little upset that he was portrayed as a villain.  After some discussion he and I came to an agreement, and he volunteered to share one of his recent adventures.  No one wants to be misunderstood, you know, so I graciously decided to give him a chance to tell his side of the story…so please enjoy!

I’m Joe.  I’m not a bad guy.  My technology is state of the art.  You know how it is, though, right?  You have the newest gadget and it’s amazing and every bell and whistle you could ever desire is built into the system, and you sign up with joy in your heart…and then you end up landing in some lady’s flower garden tens of millions of light years away from home and your reputation is ruined forever.  Well, that’s what happened to me.

It was a glorious day when I started out in my quadrant of space.  I had just woken up to see one of our suns rising, and pulled on my protective gear because I was going exploring today, and my planet has a more hostile environment than most, hence the exploring.  I get paid on commission when I find habitable places for my people to settle.  Our atmosphere has been steadily eroding because of changes in our main sun.  We’ve managed to move almost everyone, but some of us stick around because it’s home, and it’s our job to make sure everyone is out before it becomes unlivable.  We don’t do the whole hostile takeover thing, if you were worried, so we’re always looking for uninhabited planets.  Accidents happen from time to time, of course, but we keep our space footprints off the beaten path most of the time.

Anyway, I stepped outside and headed into work eager to try out my new navigation system that was built into my usual space gear.  The interstellar transportation hub is a short walk from my house, so I stretched a little, and started on my way.  Most of my neighbors have left, so the area is pretty peaceful, but it’s starting to look like a ghost town.  I could tell it was going to be a great day already.  How wrong could one Galamite be?  Well, like any early technology adopter, I was about to find out. (To be continued.)

Leave a Reply

