Write As Rea

The happy intersection between what I want to write and what people want to read.

So I may not be Superwoman, but the sentient house of doom (s.h.o.d. for short) definitely has my form of Kryptonite. It’s green, it’s alive, and it’s a definite weakness of mine. When cut it inevitably results in a streaming nose, watering itchy eyes, and what feels like imminent death by allergies for me.  I bet you’re glad I don’t know where my camera is at the moment.

Weaknesses make characters interesting to read. They make them real for us. Relatable. Even if you have nothing else in common with a character, if they have a weakness, you can have empathy for them and care how they are affected by the plot. I would say creating a weakness for your characters is essential in their development because it usually drives the plot in more meaningful ways.  They need strengths as well, of course, but it’s the weaknesses that make the character human, even if the character…isn’t.

I like this part of story development a lot.  It’s fun, and frustrating, and great practice for life.  I like writing from the viewpoint of other people, and seeing the world come alive through their eyes, especially if their eyes see the world differently than my own. Sometimes those characters become my favorite ones to write.  I’m always working on my own weaknesses, especially when it comes to my writing, but the really amazing thing about those weak points in character is that they often transform into strengths.  I may earn my cape one day after all.  Take that S.H.O.D.

2 thoughts on “Kneel Before S.H.O.D

  1. That was awesome! Short, sweet, to the point and oh so fun to read. And I hear you about the allergies. Damn kryptonite!

    Like

    1. Rea says:

      It’s a killer. You’d think some sun would help but it just gives me 2nd degree burns. I’m glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for taking the time to comment! 😆

      Like

Leave a Reply

